Sunday, April 17, 2011

Songs for Japan

Released on March 24,2011, this  voluminous double CD compilation of  38 classic and current pop songs on the Universal Record Group label is a project of the big three record companies to raise money for the Japanese Red Cross Society and support disaster relief efforts currently underway. The CD features songs by top recording artists and humanitarians such as John Lennon(Imagine-2010 remaster),Bob Dylan(Shelter From the Storm),John Mayer(Waiting On the World to Change), Beyonce(Irreplaceable),Black-Eyed Peas(Tribe),U2(Walk On),Springsteen(Human Touch),Elton John (Don't Let the Sun Go Down On Me), Madonna(Miles Away), Sade(By Your side) and many others. All royalities including music publishing,artists and usual record company fees have been waived so that as much money as possible goes directly to relief efforts in one of the worst recorded  disasters in modern history. The track listing is as follows:

Disc One
1.Imagine-John Lennon
2.Walk On-U2
3.Shelter from the Storm-Bob Dylan
4.Around the World-Red Hot Chili Peppers
5.Born This Way-Lady Gaga
6.Irreplaceable-Beyonce Knowles
7.Talking to the Moon-Bruno Mars
8.Firework-Katy Perry
9.Only Girl (In the World)-Rihanna
10.Like I Love You-Justin Timberlake
11.Miles Away-Madonna
12.When Love Takes Over-David Guetta
13.Love the Way You Lie-Eminem
14.Human Touch-Bruce Springsteen
15.Awake-Josh Groban
16.Better Life-Keith Urban
17.One Tribe-Black-Eyed Peas
19.It's Okay-Ce-Lo Green

Disc Two

1. Run to You-Lady Antebellum
2.What Do You Got-Bon Jovi
3.My Hero-Foo Fighters
4.Man On the Moon-R.E.M
5. Save Me-Nicki Minaj
6. By Your Side-Sade
7.Hold On-Michael Buble
8.Pray-Justin Bieber
9.Make You Feel My Love-Adele
10.If I Could be Where You Are-Enya
11.Don't Let the sun Go Down On Me-Elton John
12.Waiting On the World to Change-John Mayer
13. Teo Torriatte(Let Us Cling Together)- Queen
14. Use Somebody-Kings of Leon
15. Fragile-Sting
16. Better in Time-Leona Lewis
17. One in A Million-Ne-Yo
19. Sunrise-Norah Jones